Work Permits

While a student is a minor and subject to California's compulsory education laws, the student must obtain a Work Permit from the student's school before beginning employment.

During the school year, students must obtain Work Permits from the school in which they are enrolled. The school will monitor the student's attendance and grades.

Please complete: Work Permit Application
Note: 
All sections of the application must be completed in order for a permit to be issued.

When school is out for the summer, Work Permits can be obtained from the school district office. Once the student completes the work permit application and has it signed by a parent and the prospective employer, the student can bring the application to the district office, along with proof of birth (not a school ID). The Work Permit can usually be prepared while you wait.  

The district office is located at 133 Mission Street, Ste.100, Santa Cruz, CA 95060.
Please call 831-429-3410 ext. 248, with questions about summer Work Permits.

Work Permits During Shelter in Place

During the countywide Shelter in Place order, Santa Cruz City Schools will issue work permits to students if they are working for employers providing essential services. For more information regarding the Shelter in Place order and what is deemed essential services, please visit the County Health Webpage.

Student can obtain work permits during this time one of two ways.

1. Digital Permits
Students can download and complete the permit application on a computer or other compatible digital device. All sections must be complete before the application is returned to the student's school site, including parent/guarding signature, and employer signature (digital signatures will suffice during this time).

Once the application is completed, email it to your site contact. A work permit will be generated, and emailed back to you. Below is the contact information for each site.

District Office Amy Walker  awalker@sccs.net
Harbor High School Joanna Garcia joannagarcia@sccs.net
Soquel High School Valerie Goodwin valeriegoodwin@sccs.net
Santa Cruz High Jacqui Adler  jacquiadler@sccs.net
Branciforte Middle Pam Perkins pperkins@sccs.net
Mission Hill Middle Peggy Slakey pslakey@sccs.net
Branciforte Small Schools Debbie Fennell
Sara Homan
dfennell@sccs.net
shoman@sccs.net


2. Physical Permits

If you are unable to obtain a work permit digitally, you can schedule an appointment with your site, or with the District Office if the site is unable to do in-person meetings. If you are unable to reach the contact from your site, please contact the District Office at 831-429-3410.

 

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 West Corporation. All rights reserved.